Florida board renames schools honoring Confederate leaders – WSVN 7News | Miami News, Weather, Sports

JACKSONVILLE, Florida (AP) – A Florida school board has voted to rename six schools named after Confederate leaders, but will leave three more after a French colonizer and a U.S. president who supports slavery and Native American people forced to pull west along the trail with tears.

After months of debate, the Duval County School Board decided on the names Tuesday night, news outlets reported.

The result: Joseph Finegan Elementary becomes the Anchor Academy; Stonewall Jackson Elementary School will be Hidden Oaks Elementary School; Jefferson Davis Middle becomes Charger Academy; Kirby-Smith Middle will be called Springfield Middle School; JEB Stuart Middle becomes Westside Middle School and Robert E. Lee High becomes Riverside High School.

Three schools in the Jacksonville area will keep their names: Jean Ribault Middle and High School and Andrew Jackson High School.

Some school board members wanted to delete the 7th President’s name, but their change failed.

The changes won’t come quickly as the school’s signs and uniforms need to be updated.

“It’s a challenge,” Superintendent Diana Greene told FirstCoast News. “You think you know what’s going to happen. You think you know how you’re going to feel, but when it happens I am overwhelmed by emotions. “

Greene said no sales tax funding will be used for the renaming process. She said the Jacksonville Jaguars agreed to provide $ 200,000 to cover the cost of home uniforms for secondary schools.

Memorabilia and marquees in schools will be saved, Greene said. The district will work with alumni to determine where the items should be kept.

Copyright 2021 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Sign up for our newsletter to get the latest news straight to your inbox

Comments are closed.